Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Scholarships / Grants
Share |

Scholarships, Grants and Awards

EAA Doctoral Scholarship Noel D. Matkin Award  Frederick S. Berg Award

EAA Doctoral Scholarship

Purpose: The Doctoral Scholarship(s) sponsored by the Educational Audiology Association will be awarded on an annual basis.  This financial assistance is available to practicing educational audiologists who are pursuing a doctoral degree in an area that may advance the field of educational audiology and/or benefit educational audiologists.  The number and amount of the scholarship(s) will  be determined annually.  The minimum amount for scholarship(s) will be $500.00 and at least one will be awarded annually if sufficient applications are received.

EAA Doctoral Scholarship Application

Requirements: The applicant must be a member of EAA, practicing as an educational audiologist, and be matriculated in an official doctoral program.  The applicant must complete the application (above) and submit all supporting documentation by the application deadline.  The complete application should be mailed to the EAA office.
3030 W. 81st Ave.
Westminster, CO 80031

Submission and Award Dates: Rolling submissions will be accepted all year long.

Previous Recipients:

  • Natalie Benefield, Jana Whalen (2011)
  • Erica Rubio (2010), Stella Ng (2010)
  • Nancy Sharpio, Amanda Davis, Robyn Miller (2006)
  • Ronni Glass (2005)
  • Carrie Spangler, Denise Lux (2004)
  • Mary Louise Brozena, Erin Plyler, Erin Wright (2002)
  • Judith Elkayam (2000)

Noel D. Matkin Award

The Research Grants and Scholarships Committee accepts applications for the Noel D. Matkin Award with a February 1st deadline each year.  In a continuing effort to support educational audiologists, EAA will fund small grants in areas related to audiology services in educational settings.  The awards are available to practitioners and students who are members of EAA for both reasearch and non-research based projects.  All EAA Members are encouraged to submit proposals for these awards.

Guidelines for Preparation of Proposals Form (must be included with submission)

General Instructions: Proposals should be typed, double spaced, and should include the requested information on the Guidelines for Preparation of Proposals Form (above). Please include section headings in your proposal and number pages.  Applicants should carefully follow page limits indicated.  Additional attachments (appendices) should be kept to a minimum.  An electronic file in Word should be submitted by February 1st to the EAA office at or mail a copy to
3030 W. 81st Ave.
Westminster, CO 80031

Noel D. Matkin Grants Awarded:

  • "Reading readiness: Measuring the effects of phonological awareness intervention designed for preschool children with hearing impairment", Kris English (2011)
  • "Children's speech perception in noise using the Phrases in Noise Test (PINT)", Erin Schafer (2010) 
  • "Developing an Assessment to Evaluate Audiology Graduate Students' Counseling and Communication Skills", Kristina English, Ph.D., University of Pittsburg (2004)
  • "Middle School Students' Impressions of Peers Wearing FM Receivers", Carole Johnson, Ph.D., Auburn University (2004)
  • "Fresh Start/South of Seventy Parent Conference", Kimberly Ott (2003)
  • "Childrens speech recognition using FM systems", Erin Shafer (2002)
  • "Teacher rating of the classroom performance of children with hearing loss", Karen Anderson (2000)
  • "Teaching hearing conservation to school children: Comparing the outcomes and efficacy of two pedagogical approaches", Jessie Ann Bennett (1999)
  • "Early Identification and early intervention for infants and toddlers with hearing loss in the state of Ohio", Trisha M. VanArsdel (1999)
  • "Using FM systems to improve speech perception in students for whom English is a second language", Melinda Anne Mitford (1998)


Fred Berg Award

This prestigious award is presented to an individual who has made notable contributions to the field of Educational Audiology on a national level.  It is not automatically awarded every year.  It is not required that the nominee be a member of EAA.  Current members of the EAA Executive Board are not eligible.  

The Nominations Committee reviews the nominations and makes recommendations to the EAA Executive Committee for approval.  The award is presented at the EAA Summer Conference or at EAA's Annual Meeting of Members.

Nominations for the Fred Berg Award should include:

  • A letter of nomination stating the nominee's specific qualifications for the award
  • Two additional letters of support for the nominee
  • The nominee's vitae.

Fred Berg Award Previous Recipients:

  • Jack Katz (2011)
  • Gail Gegg Rosenberg (2010 - awarded posthumously)
  • Michael Nixon (2007 - awarded posthumously)
  • Carl Crandall (2006 - awarded posthumously)
  • Laurie Allen (2005)
  • Evelyn Cherow (2004)
  • Karen Anderson (2003)
  • Kris English (2002)
  • Cheryl DeConde Johnson (2001)
  • Fred Bess (2000)
  • Marion Downs (1999)
  • Mark Ross (1998)
  • Noel Matkin (1997)
  • James Blair (1995)
  • Carol Flexer (1992)
  • Frederick S. Berg (1991)


Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?


May Webinar: Therapy Activities for Promoting Auditory Skills in Children with Hearing Loss

6/24/2015 » 6/26/2015
2015 Summer Conference

12011 Tejon Street, Suite 700, Westminster, CO 80234
Phone: 800-460-7EAA (7322) | Fax: 303-458-0002 |